2017 Assembly Election Endorsed Candidates

Thank you to our friends and supporters who voted all five of our endorsed Anchorage Assembly Candidates last night! It’s Our Home, and Our Future.

The Alaska Center works to engage, empower, and elect Alaskans who stand up for our clean air and water, healthy communities, and a strong democracy. The following endorsed candidates have been chosen by us because they too, stand up for what’s right for our communities.


Downtown Anchorage

District 1: Christopher Constant

In downtown, Christopher Constant is running a strong progressive campaign to fill the seat of  Patrick Flynn who has termed out of his seat. Chris’ leadership, passion for our community and determination to make Anchorage a better place to live makes him a clear choice for our endorsement.

West Anchorage
District 3: Tim Steele

Tim Steele is up for re-election and is facing a tough challenge from conservative David Nees. Tim works well with both sides of the aisle while being a strong supporter of our issues, even attending our Alaska Wild Salmon Day, and we will need his continued support on the Assembly moving forward.


Midtown Anchorage
District 4: Felix Rivera

Felix Rivera is running to replace one of our biggest supporters, Elvi Gray-Jackson, as she is term limited this year. As we say goodbye to a good friend we are confident in the leadership that Felix will bring to this seat based on his strong work ethic and his ongoing role as an avid community advocate.




South Anchorage
District 6: Suzanne LaFrance

Suzanne LaFrance is in a race against a conservative challenger whose support of the current Federal Administration is unwavering. Suzanne’s views on a sustainable budget, maintaining our infrastructure and keeping our public schools strong makes her the leader we need in this district.


Paid for and approved by Our Home, Our Future, 921 W 6th Avenue, Suite 200, Anchorage, Alaska 99501. John Duffy, Chair. The top contributors to Our Home, Our Future are The Alaska Center (Anchorage, AK). This notice to voters is required by Alaska law: We certify that this literature is not authorized, paid for, or approved by the candidate.